who are diverse in race, colour, creed and language. Comprising both developed and developing countries, the Commonwealth represents a unique association whose members share many of the same traditions, political and social values, attitudes and institutions. All members collectively subscribe to certain common ideals known as the Declaration of Commonwealth Principles. Commonwealth membership is not an alternative, but a complement to other forms of international co-operation — its members believe in and work for the success of the United Nations and together belong to a wide range of international organizations.

Commonwealth members (with the year when membership was proclaimed in parentheses if post-1931) are as follows: Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India (1947), Sri Lanka (1948), Ghana (1957), Malaysia (1957), Nigeria (1960), Cyprus (1961), Sierra Leone (1961), Tanzania (1961), Jamaica (1962), Trinidad and Tobago (1962), Uganda (1962), Kenya (1963), Malawi (1964), Malta (1964), Zambia (1964), Gambia (1965), Singapore (1965), Guyana (1966), Botswana (1966), Lesotho (1966), Barbados (1966), Nauru (1968), Mauritius (1968), Swaziland (1968), Tonga (1970), Western Samoa (1970) Fiji (1970), Bangladesh (1972), the Bahamas (1973), Grenada

Constant elements in the conduct of foreign relations in Canadian embassies and consular offices include: formal contact and negotiation with governments, assessment of current developments, promotion of trade, granting of visas, and advice and protection for Canadians abroad.

(1974), Papua New Guinea (1975), Seychelles (1976), Solomon Islands (1978), Tuvalu (1978), Dominica (1978), St. Lucia (1979), St. Vincent (1979) and Kiribati (1979). Nauru, St. Vincent and Tuvalu have special membership in the Commonwealth with all the advantages of membership except attendance at heads of government meetings. Through their association with Britain, which has retained responsibility for foreign affairs and defence, the West Indies Associated States of Antigua and St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla are also associated with the Commonwealth, as are the British dependencies and external territories of Australia and New Zealand.

Membership in the Commonwealth is an important aspect of foreign policy. Canada supports its expansion and development as an effective association working for international peace and progress. Canadian objectives have remained constant: to strengthen the association, to encourage more active participation by members, and to assist its development as a vehicle for practical co-operation. The organization has no binding rules; decisions are by consensus rather than formal vote.

A Commonwealth secretariat in London organizes and services official Commonwealth conferences, facilitates exchanges of information between member countries and collates their views. Canada's assessment to the 1979-80 budget of the secretariat was 19.2% of the total, or approximately \$1.2 million. In 1978-79 Canada contributed over \$17 million to many other Commonwealth institutions and programs, with particular emphasis on a Commonwealth fund for technical co-operation (\$7.8 million), a Commonwealth youth program (\$577,000), a Commonwealth foundation (\$504,000) and a Commonwealth scholarship and fellowship plan (\$2.6 million).

An important duty of the secretariat is organization of Commonwealth heads of government meetings held every two years. Of approximately 50 Commonwealth conferences in 1979, almost half were in the non-governmental sector, such as the 25th Commonwealth parliamentary conference in New Zealand. Major governmental meetings in 1979 included the Commonwealth heads of government meeting in Lusaka, Zambia, a Commonwealth finance ministers meeting in Malta, and a Commonwealth ministerial meeting on industrial co-operation in India.

Canada and "la Francophonie"

The term "la Francophonie" generally describes countries whose language is wholly or partly French. This term has also been used to designate a movement aimed at